Login

National American Indian Court Judges Association

New Free Webinar - Register Now! Opioid Addiction & Treatment in Tribal Communities

05 Oct 2017 12:00 PM | Anonymous

Opioid Addiction & Treatment in Tribal Communities

Thursday, October 5, 2017 

12 pm PT / 1 pm MT / 2 pm CT / 3 pm ET (90 minutes)

Is your tribal court struggling to meet the needs of opioid addicts in your community? Do you want to know more about substance abuse treatment approaches for opioids and how they may affect participants in your court programs? Come join us for a FREE webinar to learn about opioid addiction and treatment!

Opioids are decimating communities across the nation. This webinar will discuss the challenges of opioid addiction and recovery. The rise of both prescription drug abuse and the return of heroin mean that many communities, particularly rural communities, are struggling with getting necessary services for treating opioid users. This is especially true of tribal communities. In addition, the journey to recovery for opioid users is long and complicated. Justice professionals who work with opioid users will benefit from having an understanding of the psychopharmacology behind opioid addiction and treatment for opioid addiction, including medically assisted treatment.

Moderators:

  • Gina Jackson (Te-Moak Western Shoshone), Program Director, National American Indian Court Judges Association 

 

Faculty Presenter:

  • Sean Bear, 1st, Consultant, Native American Indian and Alaska Native Addiction Technology Transfer Center
  • Honorable Kim McGinnis, PhD., Esq., Chief Judge, Pueblo of Pojoaque Tribal Court
  • Dr. Anne Skinstad, Clinical Professor & Director, Native American Indian and Alaska Native Addiction Technology Transfer Center
Click to Register
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software