Login

National American Indian Court Judges Association

  • Home Page
  • News and Events
  • Register Now for Webinar! Peace Circles Models A Virtual Circle on Peacemaking April 24, 2017

Register Now for Webinar! Peace Circles Models A Virtual Circle on Peacemaking April 24, 2017

17 Apr 2017 11:52 AM | Anonymous

Free Webinar Session on: Monday, April 24, 2017 at 

12 pm PT / 1 pm MT / 2 pm CT / 3 pm ET

(90 minutes)

Tired of looking to the outside for answers? It’s time to turn around and look within your own communities for strength.

Peacemaking is not alternative dispute resolution to Native communities- it is the original, traditional way our communities managed to work through disputes for centuries before tribal courts were created. Because of natural limitations inherent in tribal courts, there is increasing interest in the continuation and revitalization of those traditional ways. 

 This webinar will explain how tribal traditions may hold a solution to some problems that have proven especially difficult in tribal court, provide some examples of how other tribes have had success, and explain how this movement is part of a bigger picture, even internationally, of how indigenous communities are using their own wisdom to solve their problems. 


Moderator:

Gina Jackson (Te-Moak Western Shoshone), Program Director, National American Court Judges Association

Faculty Presenters:

  • Hon. Cheryl Demmert Fairbanks (Tlingit/Tsimshian), Justice, Inter-Tribal Court of Appeals of Nevada
  • Hon. Robert Yazzie (Navajo), Chief Justice, Emeritus, Navajo Nation Supreme Court 
  • Brett Lee Shelton (Oglala Sioux Tribe), Staff Attorney, Indigenous Peacemaking Initiative, Native American Rights Fund, Tribal Appeals Court Justice
  • Professor Shawn Watts (Cherokee), Columbia Law School,  Edson Queiroz Foundation Mediation Program 


Closed captioning will be provided. If you have further questions regarding this webinar, please contact Alicia Lord at alord@ncjfcj.org

This project was supported by Grant No. 2016-AC-BX-K004 awarded by the Bureau of Justice Assistance. The Bureau of Justice Assistance is a component of the Department of Justice's Office of Justice Programs, which also includes the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Office of Victims of Crime, and the SMART Office. Points of view or opinions in this webinar are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the official position or policies of the U.S. Department of Justice.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software